Outfit Roundup: SATC S1E5 “Power of Female Sex”

Starting the episode strong with a pissed of Samantha! She is a business woman and ita clear how important image is, everything she wears matches. The striped suit with a matching skirt, even her jacker matches the shade. The gold accessories to make the gold buttons and a blingy top. It suits her personality and looks amazing. Carrie is underwhelming in comparison, we’ve seen her in plenty of blues and this dress is no exception in the meh department. Nothing clashes but the thought behind it is not there, just a few items which are standard mixed together. Blue, grey, red, I’m not offended but I’m not wowed either.

Just for her glasses, Carrie gets a 6/10. Sam, yes, this is so cohesive, she looks strong and determined, 9/10.

Next up, loungewear. I will never be too harsh on this. Its nice to see miranda out of a suit, even if it’s something more comfortable. Miranda with her cute pink cardigan, I love it. Carrie in a checked one piece, yes. Okay I know capri shorts are meant to be sinful, but I love this. Maybe im just a sucker for a checked look.

It doesn’t add much to Samantha as a character just a normal look. 3/10
Tied back hair, cutesy pink and conservative. Yes this is Charlotte. 7/10
Miranda I appreciate that thr jumper matches your hair. 7/10. And Carrie, YES. 8/10

Let’s do the date looks. The first is a perfect example to Carrie, she gets what’s trendy then completely fucks it up with accessories. I love the floral dress, the colours and setting, the reddish jacket complements it so well. Then she puts on a fucking stupid boa. Without accessories, she’s winning, just look at the gorgeous silver dress, the lines and structure it looks great. But I can’t help but hate the shoes she pairs it with. I don’t even hate the shoes and in theory the colours should match but the shoes don’t radiate the same energy as the dress.

Without the boa it gets a 9 but im knocking off 5 because of how pissed I am that she thinks it’s a good idea. Sorry math deduces this is a 4/10
I love the dress, I want 5 all in different colours. 9.5/10
They’re not terrible, would be great on a different look so for that 7/10

A casual look which I like, a grey skirt with a simple pattern and a pink top. I like the bagginess of the top and how it matches the embroidery.

It matches but not like she’s trying too hard (mainly because she wasn’t). 7/10

Miranda came in sweatpants and Samantha came in a co-ord cardigan and top, sounds about right for the characters.

It’s sweatpants, we all wear them and love them. 4/10
This co-ord look is a winner. So simple yet so effective. 10/10

All of Charlotte’s plot lines so far seem so dissociated from everyone else so we’ll do her outfits separate too. This red suit with a skirt is great. The femininity in the red (which matches the tone of the vagina artist) but it’s still a suit of a power woman. A blink and you miss it, is a dress which you can only see the top of. It’s a very classic look, almost like a frame at an art gallery – which matches her job perfectly!

Nothing much to add 8/10
Love the cream colour and embroidery – wish we saw a full view. 8/10

A dinner look for Sam and Carrie to tie off the first scene. Carrie is wearing a snake skin pattern dress. I’m not personally a fan of this pattern but the ruching and fit of the dress really win me over. Even the spaghetti straps fit the construction of the dress perfectly. Samantha wears an off shoulder black top and skirt. I’m not obsessed with them together but the top alone I can get behind.

This dress might change my mind on this print. 8.5/10
It’s fine. 6/10

Finally the last shot, all 4 girls attending an art show. Samantha started the episode so strong but beige jacker with leopard print. No thank you. I think I gave miranda a hard time with a similar look in episode 1, but she’s won me over. I like the stacked necklace complementing the satin top. Charlotte wears a black dress, kind of boring but thr neckline is very flattering. Let’s be real they all pale in comparison to Carrie’s outfit. A floral robe, it’s kind of out there but I’m obsessed. The pink belt just adds even more to it.

Sam, sorry but 2/10. Charlotte 5/10. Miranda 7/10 mainly cos its still a suit but I’m liking it more than normal. Carrie 8/10.

At this point I’d normally say the outfit winner but there is none. That’s because none of these 4 girls could possibly beat the one episode star Amalita Amalfi. She killed every look, the outfit winner is her first look, a matching pink floral dress and cardigan, just hanging of her shoulders.

1000/10, the string halter, the bright colours. The matching cardigan. The jade green purse. This is an absolute look, she did not hold back.
This does not mean her other looks were bad. This amazing green dress, with a pattern and perfect fitting. 8/10
BUT 9/10 with its matching jacket. A please pay attention to her accessories, the bracelet and even cigarette holder. I hate cigarettes but my goodness she’s doing it in style.
A 10/10, the black and gold, I don’t even hate the puff thing at the back. The embroidery is top class and the way in which the skirt comes out. Amazing.

Leave a comment